Hi,
I'm currently developing an HMI application under iX Developer 2.10 which will be deployed to two T15B touch panels. The HMI application will generally be identical except for some unique functionalities that will be assigned to one touch panel only and for this purpose, I'm thinking of using the IP addresses from the T15B's as the bases for identification which might then be used to enable the unique functionalities and going away from having to develop two HMI applications. Is there a way of obtaining the system IP address via scripting or from another method which is still readily available for scripting? I've only done generic scripting in iX Developer from previous work and would really appreciate much if anyone can shed some light on this one. Thanks very much in advance.
All the best,
TuneMan
Getting IP address from system
Re: Getting IP address from system
Hi
I have made a script for getting a IP address.
Just use google "Get local ip address c#"
Br.
/Michael
I have made a script for getting a IP address.
Just use google "Get local ip address c#"
Code: Select all
//added
using System.Net;
using System.Net.Sockets;
public static string GetLocalIPAddress()
{
IPHostEntry host;
string localIP = "No 192.*.*.* IP";
host = Dns.GetHostEntry(Dns.GetHostName());
foreach (IPAddress ip in host.AddressList)
{
localIP = ip.ToString();
String[] temp = localIP.Split('.');
if (ip.AddressFamily == AddressFamily.InterNetwork && temp[0] == "192")
{
break;
}
else localIP = "No 192.*.*.* IP";
}
return localIP;
}
/Michael
Re: Getting IP address from system
Works fine. The only thing I had to change, is removing word "static". Not sure what difference does it make?
-
- Posts: 137
- Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:10 pm
Re: Getting IP address from system
static makes the function usable without instantiating a class instance. For example, say we had the following class
to call Stat(), all you need is Foo.Stat(); while to call Foo() you need (new Foo()).Loc(); as Loc()is an instance function while Stat() is a static function. Note static functions cannot use class instance variables while instance functions can use both class instance and static variables.
Code: Select all
public class Foo
{
public int Loc()
{
...
}
public static int Stat()
{
...
}
}
Adam M.
Controls Engineer
FlexEnergy
Controls Engineer
FlexEnergy
Re: Getting IP address from system
Thank You Adam.
Re: Getting IP address from system
Just noticed, It works, if HMI connected to a network hub or device. How to check the IP address if it's not the case?
-
- Posts: 137
- Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:10 pm
Re: Getting IP address from system
Under the Sample Programs > Panel/Hardware Management board there is a topic "Display All IP Addresses" to get the panel IP addresses. Maybe this would help.
Adam M.
Controls Engineer
FlexEnergy
Controls Engineer
FlexEnergy
Re: Getting IP address from system
Hi Adam, thank You for reply.
I tried the sample. It behaves similar. When connected to a hub, the IP address shown is correct. When disconnected, shows 127.0.0.1.
I tried the sample. It behaves similar. When connected to a hub, the IP address shown is correct. When disconnected, shows 127.0.0.1.
-
- Posts: 137
- Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:10 pm
Re: Getting IP address from system
Is the IP set static or dynamic?
127.0.0.1 is a loop back IP address. My guess is this is the IP you get when no IP address is assigned because the port is set to dynamic and no DHCP server is connected.
127.0.0.1 is a loop back IP address. My guess is this is the IP you get when no IP address is assigned because the port is set to dynamic and no DHCP server is connected.
Adam M.
Controls Engineer
FlexEnergy
Controls Engineer
FlexEnergy
Re: Getting IP address from system
It is default setting. Is default dynamic?